Press enter to see results or esc to cancel.

What is the function of the various Permissions in EMR

Let us review in detail the permissions for the EMR module.

1. Create New Visit
It allows a Doctor to record a Patient Visit. This permission should be given to all Doctors. The only time this permission is not given is when you have an external Doctor or a Patient accessing medical records. In such instances you only want them to have read-only access and not create new visits.

2. Edit Current Visit Layout
It allows the user to add and remove the content in the currently open case sheet. If you want your Doctors to follow a set line of treatment without making changes, you should not give this permission. Your users can then simply fill out the blanks or skip it, but they cannot go about changing the layout of the currently open case sheet.

3. Include in Medical Summary
Whenever the user enters any history-related information in a Patient’s chart, Clinicea automatically flags such a piece of information for inclusion in the Medical Summary Section. This permission allows the user to override Clinicea and switch the flag on and off. It helps in collaboration and automates the generation of a Medical Summary. This permission should not be given unless your users are very experienced in using EMRs.

4. Switch Case sheet
It allows a user to manually change the case sheet to be used for a Patient Visit. This permission should be given to Doctors. The only time you want to switch off this permission is when you have a fixed template-based approach where the reason for the visit in an appointment decides which case sheet the Doctor should follow.

5. Edit Case Sheet
It allows you to edit the content and layout of any case sheet. This should not be given to any user, except the Chief Medical Officer in your Clinic.

6. Edit Past Visits
This permission allows you to open up a past visit and make edits. This option is useful, to correct mistakes made in a past visit while capturing medical data. It should be given to your Doctors.

7. Edit EMR Master Data
It allows you to add, edit and delete clinical groups and items. Such items are then used to build case sheets. This should not be given to any user, except the Chief Medical Officer in your Clinic.

8a. Allow editing of Patient data: You may allow entry of new patients to all staff. But editing of patients may be restricted to key personnel only. This permission allows you to decide which users can edit the patient demographics. This permission is not required in order to add a new patient.

8b. Allow changes to Sensitive Client data e.g. Source, Active Status, Access to Portal, Consent to Privacy Policy
Even though you may allow editing of the patients to several users to ensure patient demographics are kept updated, some fields need additional protection e.g. patient source. The direction your marketing budget will take is dependant heavily on this field. Metrics of which marketing channel yielded the high spenders v low spenders will impact budget allocation. You don’t want a thick finger on the keyboard to start corrupting this data. To prevent that from happening, limit this permission to key marketing personnel only. It ensures integrity of the critical aspects of the patient data, while still allowing other users to add and edit patients.

9. Delete and merge Patient Data
This allows you to delete all patient data permanently from the system. It also lets you merge 2 different patients into one, in case of duplicates. This permission should only be given to Managers or Admin.

10. Allow editing of Print Content
Clinicea allows you to print out various documents such as Prescriptions, Referrals, Medical Certificates etc.. This permission allows you to make changes to the information before printing. Keep in mind that this does not change the print template set in the account. It only changes the content of 1 specific printout. Should be given to all Doctors.

11. Allow Editing of Items Bill Estimate
This allows you to make changes to the price of a service/investigation at the time of check-out. The receptionist at the time of billing will see the prices that you have entered and bill the patient accordingly. Should be given to all Doctors.